[Hidden-tech] Be aware of "Front-running" by Network Solutions
Fred Bliss
fredbliss at comcast.net
Mon Feb 25 22:25:28 EST 2008
Hi Larry & All,
I've had good luck with Godaddy to register domains. I can't really
recommend their hosting, but I consider them to be trustworthy when it
comes to checking names for availability. You also may want to consider
enom.com as I haven't heard anything negative from them.
I would also like to note that ICANN (the Internet Corporation for
Assigned Names and Numbers) found no explicit evidence of domain
snatching from a pool of 120 recent complaints, (determination made
2/17/08) but I would encourage you all to take that determination with a
grain of salt. If ICANN has a degree of plausible deniability regarding
such an issue, they will take it and run with it while they address the
issue out of the public eye. I would heed the word of others in this
situation as I have heard of this problem for almost 2 years now as
previously stated.
I hope this helps everyone, thanks for asking, Larry!
Regards,
Fred
Larry Flaccus wrote:
> Fred - Where else do you recommend buying domain names from, and who do you
> go to to check name availability other than Network Solutions?
>
> Thanks,
> Larry
>
> Larry Flaccus
> The Communications Solutions Group
> Achieve success through excellence in communications!
> 1394 Mohawk Trail, Shelburne, MA 01370
> office: 413-625-2806 fax 413-625-6443
> home: 413-625-6503 mobile: 413-262-3270
> LKF2 at rcn.com
> www.kenburnorchards.com
>
>
> -----Original Message-----
> From: hidden-discuss-bounces at lists.hidden-tech.net
> [mailto:hidden-discuss-bounces at lists.hidden-tech.net] On Behalf Of Fred
> Bliss
> Sent: Monday, February 25, 2008 5:58 PM
> To: hidden-discuss at lists.hidden-tech.net
> Subject: Re: [Hidden-tech] Be aware of "Front-running" by Network Solutions
>
>
> Thanks for the alert. This has been going on for almost 2 years that is
> known, and in the past it was a practice that only the greasiest of
> cyber-squatters (a person who registers and sits on a domain name to
> sell it later at a premium) would partake of. Unfortunately Network
> Solutions has never been a friend to the customer. They also charge too
> much for domains. You can get top-level domains from many registrars
> for around $10, so I would encourage everyone to reconsider dealing with
> Network Solutions. They may not be the only registrar holding domains
> hostage, but they certainly are charging more than the others!
>
> Regards,
>
> Fred Bliss
>
> Charles Uchu Strader wrote:
>
>> Hey Hidden Techies,
>>
>> Just passing this news through as it is very relevant to anyone owning
>> or managing a domain name for their business or other people. I first
>> thought it might just be passing news, but we've already had direct
>> contact with a customer of ours that first checked availability at
>> Network Solutions and have followed up and confirmed the practice is
>> prevalent.
>>
>> Network Solutions has started to game the domain registration system
>> through a tactic that is being called "front-running". If you query
>> for a domain on their site, but don't purchase it, they will register
>> it in their Name for a period of four days.
>> During that period you will be unable to register the domain at any
>> other registrar. After that period the domain reverts back to public
>> availability and Network Solutions paid nothing to do so based on the
>> current policy that they are gaming that relates to that grace period.
>>
>> Here's an article about the situation if you want more detail. The
>> global domain governing body (ICANN) is investigating the situation,
>> but so far Network Solutions continues the practice.
>>
>> http://www.theregister.co.uk/2008/02/19/ican_questions_network_solutio
>> ns_over_front_running/
>>
>>
>> Regards,
>>
>> Charles Uchu Strader
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> Hidden-discuss mailing list - home page: http://www.hidden-tech.net
>> Hidden-discuss at lists.hidden-tech.net
>>
>> You are receiving this because you are on the Hidden-Tech Discussion
>> list.
>> If you would like to change your list preferences, Go to the Members
>> page on the Hidden Tech Web site.
>> http://www.hidden-tech.net/members
>>
>>
>
> _______________________________________________
> Hidden-discuss mailing list - home page: http://www.hidden-tech.net
> Hidden-discuss at lists.hidden-tech.net
>
> You are receiving this because you are on the Hidden-Tech Discussion list.
> If you would like to change your list preferences, Go to the Members
> page on the Hidden Tech Web site.
> http://www.hidden-tech.net/members
>
>
>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://lists.hidden-tech.net/pipermail/hidden-discuss/attachments/20080225/21d7effd/attachment.htm
More information about the Hidden-discuss
mailing list